Volcancito Espresso

Volcancito Espresso
 
 
Pastille/Filtre
Volcancito Espresso
Notes: Caramel + Red Plum + Praline
qty
Grind type
Select an option
One-time purchase To discover this coffee
Subscription Get a 10% discount on the regular price
Free shipping starting at 49$
Sous-total 18.95$
Scroll Down

Tasting Notes

Here's a particularly creamy and sweet espresso that is at its best served black or with a dash of milk. We taste warm and comforting flavors of butterscotch and praline nuts, along with a juicy red plum and orange acidity.

The beans

Producers: Alejo Castro Kahle

Farm: Volcan Azul

Region: Grecia, Alajuela

Country: Costa Rica

Elevation: 1600-1700 meters

Variety: Catuai, Caturra

Processing: White honey

For a creamy and heartwarming espresso!

It is a real privilege to work with the remarkable Volcan Azul estate for a second consecutive year. Alejo belongs to the fifth generation of the Castro-Kahle family, who have been cultivating coffee on the Poas volcano flanks in Costa Rica for over 100 years. They have over twenty varieties including Caturra, Catuai, Villa Sarchi, Geisha, SL-28 and Sudan Rume. Alejo is an extremely passionate and knowledgeable coffee grower. He is constantly experimenting with new varieties and unconventional processes with the aim of producing some of the best coffees in the world. Volcan Azul is regularly recognized at the Cup of Excellence competition.In addition to their pursuit of quality, the family has chosen to keep over 200 hectares of forest intact in order to preserve the local biodiversity. Alejo is convinced that the forest allows his coffee trees to benefit from a unique microclimate: a light damp veil sweeps through the farm every day, even in the dry season.

Characteristics

The Volcancito lot is a blend of cherries from young trees of Caturra and Catuai varieties. It’s a honey process, where the cherries are mechanically washed and dried in the sun with a small part of the pulp still attached to the parchment. It’s a particularly creamy and sweet espresso that is at its best served black or with a dash of milk. We taste warm and comforting flavors of butterscotch and praline nuts, along with a juicy red plum and orange acidity.

Tasting Notes

Here's a particularly creamy and sweet espresso that is at its best served black or with a dash of milk. We taste warm and comforting flavors of butterscotch and praline nuts, along with a juicy red plum and orange acidity.

The beans

Producers: Alejo Castro Kahle

Farm: Volcan Azul

Region: Grecia, Alajuela

Country: Costa Rica

Elevation: 1600-1700 meters

Variety: Catuai, Caturra

Processing: White honey

For a creamy and heartwarming espresso!

It is a real privilege to work with the remarkable Volcan Azul estate for a second consecutive year. Alejo belongs to the fifth generation of the Castro-Kahle family, who have been cultivating coffee on the Poas volcano flanks in Costa Rica for over 100 years. They have over twenty varieties including Caturra, Catuai, Villa Sarchi, Geisha, SL-28 and Sudan Rume. Alejo is an extremely passionate and knowledgeable coffee grower. He is constantly experimenting with new varieties and unconventional processes with the aim of producing some of the best coffees in the world. Volcan Azul is regularly recognized at the Cup of Excellence competition.In addition to their pursuit of quality, the family has chosen to keep over 200 hectares of forest intact in order to preserve the local biodiversity. Alejo is convinced that the forest allows his coffee trees to benefit from a unique microclimate: a light damp veil sweeps through the farm every day, even in the dry season.

Characteristics

The Volcancito lot is a blend of cherries from young trees of Caturra and Catuai varieties. It’s a honey process, where the cherries are mechanically washed and dried in the sun with a small part of the pulp still attached to the parchment. It’s a particularly creamy and sweet espresso that is at its best served black or with a dash of milk. We taste warm and comforting flavors of butterscotch and praline nuts, along with a juicy red plum and orange acidity.

Transparency

We believe that buying coffee is much more than a simple transaction. From our very beginnings in 2011, our goal has been to form long-term partnerships and pay prices that ensure financial sustainability for the producers we work with.

Price paid at the origin (FOB):

2.94 $ usd/lb

Miminum fair trade price:

1.6 $ usd/lb

C Market price at the time of purchase:

1.41 $ usd/lb
Scroll Down

Brewing guide

Our brewing guides will teach you how to prepare a good cup of coffee step by step, depending on the equipment used

Learn more

Also to discover

Les Carillons

Les Carillons

Know More
Les Carillons
Les Carillons

Notes: Field fruits + Floral + Cocoa

$20.95 CAD

Alejo Castro, Filter

Alejo Castro, Filter

Know More
Alejo Castro, Filter
Alejo Castro, Filter

Notes: Figue + Cherry + Milk chocolate

$21.95 CAD

Godshot Espresso

Godshot Espresso

Know More
Godshot Espresso
Godshot Espresso

Orange marmelade + Honey + Meyer Lemon

$17.50 CAD

Espresso Volcancito

Espresso Volcancito
 
 
Pastille/Filtre
Espresso Volcancito
Notes: Caramel + Prune + Praline
Qté
Type de mouture
Sélectionnez une option :
Achat unique Pour le découvrir
S'abonner Obtenez 10% de rabais sur le prix régulier
Livraison gratuite à partir de 49$
Sous-total 18.95$
Scroll Down

Notes de dégustation

Voici un espresso particulièrement crémeux et sucré qui est à son meilleur noir ou avec une faible quantité de lait. Nous y dégustons des saveurs chaudes et réconfortantes de caramel au beurre et de noix pralinés ainsi qu’une juteuse acidité rappelant la prune rouge et l’orange.

Le grain

Producteurs: Alejo Castro Kahle

Ferme: Volcan Azul

Région: Grecia, Alajuela

Pays: Costa Rica

Élévation: 1600-1700 mètres

Variété: Caturai, Caturra

Procédé: Miel blanc

Pour un espresso réconfortant et crémeux!

C’est un réel privilège de travailler avec la remarquable ferme Volcan Azul pour une deuxième année consécutive. Alejo appartient à la cinquième génération de la famille Castro-Kahle, qui cultive du café sur le flanc du volcan Poas au Costa Rica depuis plus de 100 ans. Ils ont plus d’une vingtaine de variétés dont Caturra, Catuai, Villa Sarchi, Geisha, SL-28 et Rume Sudan. Alejo est un caféiculteur extrêmement passionné et informé. Il expérimente sans cesse avec de nouvelles variétés et procédés moins conventionnels dans le but de produire certains des meilleurs cafés du monde. Volcan Azul est d'ailleurs régulièrement récompensé à la compétition Tasse d’Excellence. En plus de leur poursuite de la qualité, la famille a choisi de garder intacte plus de 200 hectares de forêt afin de préserver la biodiversité locale. Alejo est persuadé que la forêt conservée ainsi permet à ses caféiers de bénéficier d’un microclimat unique: un léger voile humide balaie la ferme à tous les jours, même en saison sèche.

Particularités

Le lot Volcancito est un mélange de cerises provenant de jeunes arbres de variétés Caturra et Catuai. Il s’agit d’un procédé miel, où les cerises subissent un lavage mécanique suivi d’un séchage au soleil où la parche est entourée d’une légère quantité de pulpe. Nous en avons fait un espresso particulièrement crémeux et sucré qui est à son meilleur noir ou avec une faible quantité de lait. Nous y dégustons des saveurs chaudes et réconfortantes de caramel au beurre et de noix pralinés ainsi qu’une juteuse acidité rappelant la prune rouge et l’orange.

Notes de dégustation

Voici un espresso particulièrement crémeux et sucré qui est à son meilleur noir ou avec une faible quantité de lait. Nous y dégustons des saveurs chaudes et réconfortantes de caramel au beurre et de noix pralinés ainsi qu’une juteuse acidité rappelant la prune rouge et l’orange.

Le grain

Producteurs: Alejo Castro Kahle

Ferme: Volcan Azul

Région: Grecia, Alajuela

Pays: Costa Rica

Élévation: 1600-1700 mètres

Variété: Caturai, Caturra

Procédé: Miel blanc

Pour un espresso réconfortant et crémeux!

C’est un réel privilège de travailler avec la remarquable ferme Volcan Azul pour une deuxième année consécutive. Alejo appartient à la cinquième génération de la famille Castro-Kahle, qui cultive du café sur le flanc du volcan Poas au Costa Rica depuis plus de 100 ans. Ils ont plus d’une vingtaine de variétés dont Caturra, Catuai, Villa Sarchi, Geisha, SL-28 et Rume Sudan. Alejo est un caféiculteur extrêmement passionné et informé. Il expérimente sans cesse avec de nouvelles variétés et procédés moins conventionnels dans le but de produire certains des meilleurs cafés du monde. Volcan Azul est d'ailleurs régulièrement récompensé à la compétition Tasse d’Excellence. En plus de leur poursuite de la qualité, la famille a choisi de garder intacte plus de 200 hectares de forêt afin de préserver la biodiversité locale. Alejo est persuadé que la forêt conservée ainsi permet à ses caféiers de bénéficier d’un microclimat unique: un léger voile humide balaie la ferme à tous les jours, même en saison sèche.

Particularités

Le lot Volcancito est un mélange de cerises provenant de jeunes arbres de variétés Caturra et Catuai. Il s’agit d’un procédé miel, où les cerises subissent un lavage mécanique suivi d’un séchage au soleil où la parche est entourée d’une légère quantité de pulpe. Nous en avons fait un espresso particulièrement crémeux et sucré qui est à son meilleur noir ou avec une faible quantité de lait. Nous y dégustons des saveurs chaudes et réconfortantes de caramel au beurre et de noix pralinés ainsi qu’une juteuse acidité rappelant la prune rouge et l’orange.

Transparence

Nous croyons que l’achat de café est beaucoup plus qu’une simple transaction. Depuis nos tout débuts en 2011, notre but est de former des partenariats à long terme et de payer des prix qui assure une durabilité financière pour les producteurs avec qui nous travaillons.

Prix payé à la source

2.94 $ usd/lb

Prix équitable minimum

1.6 $ usd/lb

Prix du marché au moment de l'achat

1.41 $ usd/lb
Scroll Down

Guide d'infusion

Nos guides d’infusions vous apprendront à préparer une bonne tasse de café étape par étape, selon l'équipement utilisé

En savoir plus

À découvrir aussi

Les Carillons

Les Carillons

En Savoir plus
Les Carillons
Les Carillons

Notes: Fruits des champs + Floral + Cacao

$20.95 CAD

Espresso Godshot

Espresso Godshot

En Savoir plus
Espresso Godshot
Espresso Godshot

Notes: Marmelade d'orange + Miel + Citron Meyer

$17.50 CAD