Oscar & Luis Monge, Filter

Oscar & Luis Monge, Filter
 
 
Oscar & Luis Monge, Filter
Notes: Black cherry + Caramel + Orange
qty
Grind type
Free shipping* starting at 49,00 $
*for all orders delivered in Quebec. Additional charges apply for orders delivered outside the province.
Subtotal 24.00$

Tasting Notes

A cup with fine notes of black cherries and citrus fruits, with a caramelized finish.

Brewing Recipe

Filter

20g coffee | 320g water | 3min20

Optimal freshness 5 to 30 days

The bean

FARM: Pie San

MICROMILL : La Lia micromill

REGION: San Lorenzo de Tarrazu, Tarrazu

COUNTRY: Costa Rica

ELEVATION: 1900 masl

VARIETY: Catuai

PROCESS: White honey

Particularities

La Lia was founded in 2007 during a movement called the micro-mill revolution in Costa Rica. It was in the early 2000s that some producers began to build their own post-harvest facilities to process their cherries as well as those from neighboring farms. By pulping, fermenting, and drying their coffees themselves, these producers can better control the quality of the process, add value, and obtain a better price stability in a very difficult market. There are now nearly 200 micromills in Costa Rica and the demand for high quality microlots continues to grow.

STORY

Back for a sixth consecutive year, it is a privilege to reintroduce a lot from the Monge Ureña brothers on our menu. It was on our first trip to Costa Rica in 2017 that we selected our first lot from dozens of samples and began the relationship. Since then, we have had the chance to visit them every year, forge close ties and roast several of their exceptional lots. The coffee we have selected this year comes more precisely from one of their farms called Pie San. It is a 100% Catuai variety, grown at more than 1900 meters above sea level, the highest point of their land. It is processed according to the honey method, a hybrid between the washed and the natural where the parchment dries surrounded by a part of the pulp of the cherry.

Tasting Notes

A cup with fine notes of black cherries and citrus fruits, with a caramelized finish.

Brewing Recipe

Filter

20g coffee | 320g water | 3min20

Optimal freshness 5 to 30 days

The bean

FARM: Pie San

MICROMILL : La Lia micromill

REGION: San Lorenzo de Tarrazu, Tarrazu

COUNTRY: Costa Rica

ELEVATION: 1900 masl

VARIETY: Catuai

PROCESS: White honey

Particularities

La Lia was founded in 2007 during a movement called the micro-mill revolution in Costa Rica. It was in the early 2000s that some producers began to build their own post-harvest facilities to process their cherries as well as those from neighboring farms. By pulping, fermenting, and drying their coffees themselves, these producers can better control the quality of the process, add value, and obtain a better price stability in a very difficult market. There are now nearly 200 micromills in Costa Rica and the demand for high quality microlots continues to grow.

Read more

STORY

Back for a sixth consecutive year, it is a privilege to reintroduce a lot from the Monge Ureña brothers on our menu. It was on our first trip to Costa Rica in 2017 that we selected our first lot from dozens of samples and began the relationship. Since then, we have had the chance to visit them every year, forge close ties and roast several of their exceptional lots. The coffee we have selected this year comes more precisely from one of their farms called Pie San. It is a 100% Catuai variety, grown at more than 1900 meters above sea level, the highest point of their land. It is processed according to the honey method, a hybrid between the washed and the natural where the parchment dries surrounded by a part of the pulp of the cherry.

Read more

Transparency

We believe that buying coffee is much more than a simple transaction. From our very beginnings in 2011, our goal has been to form long-term partnerships and pay prices that ensure financial sustainability for the producers we work with.

C Market price at the time of purchase:

2.21 $ usd/lb

Miminum fair trade price:

1.6 $ usd/lb

Price paid at the origin (FOB):

4.4 $ usd/lb

Brewing guide

Our brewing guides will teach you how to prepare a good cup of coffee step by step, depending on the equipment used

Learn more

Also to discover

Holycow Espresso

Holycow Espresso

Know More
Holycow Espresso
Holycow Espresso

Notes: Almond + Raisin + Dark chocolate

$20.00 CAD

Godshot Espresso

Godshot Espresso

Know More
Godshot Espresso
Godshot Espresso

Orange marmelade + Honey + Meyer Lemon

$20.00 CAD

Colosseo Espresso

Colosseo Espresso

Know More
Colosseo Espresso
Colosseo Espresso

Notes: Maple syrup + Cocoa + Pecan nuts

$19.00 CAD

Holycow Capsules

Holycow Capsules

Know More
 Holycow Capsules
Holycow Capsules

Notes: Hazelnut + black cherry + chocolat

$12.99 CAD

Oscar et Luis Monge, Filtre

Oscar et Luis Monge, Filtre
 
 
Oscar et Luis Monge, Filtre
Notes: Cerise noire + Caramel + Orange
Qté
Type de mouture
Livraison gratuite à partir de 49,00 $
Sous-total 24.00$

Notes de dégustation

Une tasse aux fines notes de cerises noires et d’agrumes, avec une belle longueur caramélisée.

Recette d’infusion

Filtre

20g café | 320g eau | 3min20

Fraîcheur optimale 5 à 30 jours

Le grain

FERME: Pie San

MICRO-MOULIN : La Lia micromill

RÉGION: San Lorenzo de Tarrazu, Tarrazu

PAYS: Costa Rica

ÉLÉVATION: 1900 mètres

VARIÉTÉ: Catuai

PROCÉDÉ: Miel Blanc

Particularités

La Lia fût fondée en 2007 au cours d’un mouvement appelé la révolution des micro-moulins au Costa Rica. C’est au début des années 2000 que certains producteurs commencèrent à construire leurs propres installations post-récolte dans le but de transformer leurs cerises ainsi que celles de fermes avoisinantes. En dépulpant, fermentant et séchant leurs cafés eux-mêmes, ces producteurs arrivent à mieux contrôler la qualité du procédé et à ajouter de la valeur et une meilleure stabilité de prix dans un marché très difficile. Il y a maintenant près de 200 micro-moulins au Costa Rica et la demande pour des micro-lots de haute qualité ne cesse d'augmenter

HISTOIRE

De retour pour une sixième année consécutive, c’est un privilège de réintroduire un lot des frères Monge Ureña sur notre menu. C’est lors de notre tout premier voyage au Costa Rica en 2017 que nous avons sélectionné un lot de leur ferme parmi des douzaines d’échantillons. Depuis, nous avons eu la chance de les visiter chaque année, de tisser des liens serrés et de torréfier plusieurs de leurs lots d’exception. Le café que nous avons sélectionné cette année provient plus précisément de l'une de leurs fermes nommée Pie San. C’est un lot de variété 100% Catuai, cultivé à plus de 1900 mètres d'altitude, le point le plus haut de leurs terres. Il est préparé selon la méthode miel, un procédé hybride entre le lavé et le naturel, ou la parche de café sèche entourée d’une partie de la pulpe de la cerise.

Notes de dégustation

Une tasse aux fines notes de cerises noires et d’agrumes, avec une belle longueur caramélisée.

Recette d’infusion

Filtre

20g café | 320g eau | 3min20

Fraîcheur optimale 5 à 30 jours

Le grain

FERME: Pie San

MICRO-MOULIN : La Lia micromill

RÉGION: San Lorenzo de Tarrazu, Tarrazu

PAYS: Costa Rica

ÉLÉVATION: 1900 mètres

VARIÉTÉ: Catuai

PROCÉDÉ: Miel Blanc

Particularités

La Lia fût fondée en 2007 au cours d’un mouvement appelé la révolution des micro-moulins au Costa Rica. C’est au début des années 2000 que certains producteurs commencèrent à construire leurs propres installations post-récolte dans le but de transformer leurs cerises ainsi que celles de fermes avoisinantes. En dépulpant, fermentant et séchant leurs cafés eux-mêmes, ces producteurs arrivent à mieux contrôler la qualité du procédé et à ajouter de la valeur et une meilleure stabilité de prix dans un marché très difficile. Il y a maintenant près de 200 micro-moulins au Costa Rica et la demande pour des micro-lots de haute qualité ne cesse d'augmenter

Lire la suite

HISTOIRE

De retour pour une sixième année consécutive, c’est un privilège de réintroduire un lot des frères Monge Ureña sur notre menu. C’est lors de notre tout premier voyage au Costa Rica en 2017 que nous avons sélectionné un lot de leur ferme parmi des douzaines d’échantillons. Depuis, nous avons eu la chance de les visiter chaque année, de tisser des liens serrés et de torréfier plusieurs de leurs lots d’exception. Le café que nous avons sélectionné cette année provient plus précisément de l'une de leurs fermes nommée Pie San. C’est un lot de variété 100% Catuai, cultivé à plus de 1900 mètres d'altitude, le point le plus haut de leurs terres. Il est préparé selon la méthode miel, un procédé hybride entre le lavé et le naturel, ou la parche de café sèche entourée d’une partie de la pulpe de la cerise.

Lire la suite

Transparence

Nous croyons que l’achat de café est beaucoup plus qu’une simple transaction. Depuis nos tout débuts en 2011, notre but est de former des partenariats à long terme et de payer des prix qui assure une durabilité financière pour les producteurs avec qui nous travaillons.

Prix du marché au moment de l'achat (C Market) :

2.21 $ usd/lb

Prix équitable minimum:

1.6 $ usd/lb

Prix payé à la source par Saint-Henri:

4.4 $ usd/lb

Guide d'infusion

Nos guides d’infusions vous apprendront à préparer une bonne tasse de café étape par étape, selon l'équipement utilisé

En savoir plus

À découvrir aussi

Espresso Godshot

Espresso Godshot

En Savoir plus
Espresso Godshot
Espresso Godshot

Notes: Marmelade d'orange + Miel + Citron Meyer

$20.00 CAD